album reviews

7", 10", 12" reviews

compilation reviews

remix reviews


DJ Sprinkles: Where Dancefloors Stand Still
Mule Musiq (MMCD41)
- Will Lynch

In Resident Advisor (Australia), March 22 2013.


Terre Thaemlitz has always been defined by unusual contrasts. On the one hand he's a gender theorist with a focus on identity politics, on the other he's a deep house artist forever inspired by Manhattan's 1980s club scene. To him, there's no contradiction here: club music grew out of struggle, which makes it inherently political. "The house nation likes to pretend clubs are an oasis from suffering," he says in the intro to his 2009 album Midtown 120 Blues, "but suffering is in here, with us."

Where Dancefloors Stand Still is Thaemlitz's first mix CD, and it too has a political dimension, albeit a discrete one. Its title is a reference to Japan's fuzoku law, which has been disrupting clubs there in the last two years by making it illegal to dance after 1 AM. Thaemlitz has lived in Japan since the early '00s, so the issue is personal for him. The mix itself, however, is traditional deep house fare, free of any added commentary. It's a rare instance of Thaemlitz simply having fun, preoccupied with nothing except mixing records.

Even for those that have never seen him DJ, Where Dancefloors Stand Still may sound familiar―Thaemlitz's style behind the decks is cut from the same downy cloth as albums like Routes not Roots or Midtown 120 Blues. In fact, it's almost uncanny how well his selections fall in line with his own sound. From the first note of Braxton Holmes' "12 Inches Of Pleasure (Ron's Foreplay)"―as perfect an opener as its title suggests―the mood is pure DJ Sprinkles, at once euphoric and subdued. The rest of the mix comes in waves, darker in some parts (Sound Mechanix' "I Can't Forget") and brighter in others (Choo-Ables' "Hard To Get"), but always maintaining that smooth delivery.

Thaemlitz's mixing style plays a big role here―unusually so for a house mix. His weapons of choice are filters and echo effects, and he uses them both liberally, softening the edges of his records with the former and giving them a dreamy sheen with the latter. His transitions are noteworthy too. Sometimes he goes for elaborate blends, cutting between two tracks ("If We Try" and "The Deep") or reprising one tune well into the next ("The Dip (5 AM Dipsco Mix)" into MyMy's "Everybody's Talkin"). Sometimes he does just the opposite: a clean and simple crossfade with no fanfare (or even beatmatching). Gene Farris's "Good Feeling" simply fades out, drums and all, to make way for the next track, and somehow it sounds perfectly natural.

It feels weird to get superlative about something so understated, but Where Dancefloors Stand Still is pretty much flawless. Like Levon Vincent's fabric 63, it burrows deep into an exceptional artist's signature sound, and introduces the listener to some fantastic records in the process. More simply, it's 14 special tracks strung together with finesse, which is really all you can ask for from this format. Top it all off with beautiful cover art―a painting from Emi Winter―and a vinyl sampler with some of the mix's best (and hardest to find) selections, and you've got something approaching perfection.

Terre Thaemlitzというアーティストは、常に独特なコントラストによって成り立っている。自己の性的存在をポリティカルかつ論理的にフォーカスするジェンダー理論家である一方、80年代マンハッタンのクラブ・シーンにインスパイアされた作品を創り続けるディープハウス・アーティストでもある。外部からは独特な対立構造に見えたとしても、彼自身の内面にはまったく矛盾点はない。彼にとって、クラブ・ミュージックとは苦悶や苦闘のなかから湧き出てくるものであり、だからこそその音楽は生得的にポリティカルな性質を持ち合わせているのだ。2009年にリリースされたアルバム、『Midtown 120 Blues』のイントロにおいて彼はこう語っている。「ハウス・ネイションにおけるクラブという場所は苦しみ虐げられた者たちが逃れるためのオアシスであるかのように思い込まれがちだけど、苦しみというものは私たちの中に確かにあるものなの。」

『Where Dancefloors Stand Still』はThaemlitzにとっての初のミックスCDだが、ここにも(それがはっきりとしたものではないにせよ)ポリティカルな側面が垣間見える。そのタイトルは日本の風営法と関連づけられており、ここ2年のあいだにこの法律によって午前1時以降のダンスが違法なものとされ、日本のクラブは大きな打撃を受けている。Thaemlitzは00年代前半から日本に住んでおり、この問題は彼にとっても個人的なものなのだ。とはいえ、このミックス自体はトラディショナルなディープハウスが全体を占めており、そこに何かしらの個人的声明を見つけられるわけではない。Thaemlitzがこれほど純粋に楽しんで制作した作品はかなり稀であり、そこにはレコードをミックスするという以外の作品的前提は何も無い。

DJとしての彼を見たことが無いリスナーにとっても、『Where Dancefloors Stand Still』は耳馴染みの良いもので、そのミックス・スタイルからは『Routes Not Roots』『Midtown 120 Blues』といった作品と同種の柔らかさが窺える。それどころか、そのセレクションを彼らしいサウンドに紡ぎあわせる手法は神秘的と言っても良いほどだ。Braxton Holmes "12 Inches Of Pleasure (Ron's Foreplay)"(そのタイトル通り、1曲目としては完璧だ)の最初の音色ひとつとってみても、その多幸感に溢れつつも抑制されたムードは既に純粋なまでにDJ Sprinklesらしいものだ。ミックスはそこから押し寄せる波のように展開していき、ある部分ではダークに(Sound Mechanix "I Can't Forget")、そしてある部分では明るく(Choo-Ables "Hard To Get")、それでいて滑らかさは決して失われない。

その肝は、ハウスのミックス手法としては異例ともいえるThaemlitzのミックス・スタイルにあるのではないだろうか。彼はフィルターとエコー・エフェクトを武器に、それらを自由自在に使い、フィルターでサウンドのエッジを丸めたり、エコーによってドリーミーな効果を演出しているのだ。彼のミックスの移行における独特さも特筆すべき点だ。ある時は入念かつ精巧にブレンドしたかと思えば、"If We Try"から"The Deep"への展開では大胆なカットを見せ、"The Dip (5 AM Dipsco Mix)"からMyMy "Everybody's Talkin"へのミックスでは前者のトラックを絶妙に残しながらミックスし、再びリプライズ的に浮かび上がらせたりもする。かと思えば、実にクリーンであっさりとしたクロスフェードを行い、余韻さえ残さないままミックスする(ビートを合わせていないところすらある)。Gene Farris "Good Feeling"は素っ気なくフェードアウトし、次のトラックが現れるのだが、そのサウンドの流れは完璧なまでに自然だ。

この作品の装飾性の無さを踏まえればここまで絶賛してしまうのも奇妙に映るだろうが、この『Where Dancefloors Stand Still』にはそれほど完璧なのだ。Levon Vincentの『fabric 63』同様、このミックスには比類の無いアーティスト個人の作家性が深く根ざしており、その過程ではリスナーに素晴らしいレコードを紹介している。もっと簡潔に言えば、スペシャルな全14トラックすべてが巧みに一体化しており、ミックスCDというフォーマットの最も臨むべき姿を提示していると言える。Emi Winterによる美しいカヴァー・アートやこのミックスから厳選して抜粋されたヴァイナル・サンプラー(これまで入手困難だったトラックばかりだ)を含め、完璧なリリースというほかない。

Tracklist: DJ Sprinkles - Where Dancefloors Stand Still

    01. Braxton Holmes - 12 Inches Of Pleasure (Ron's Foreplay)
    02. Alex Danilov - Deep S
    03. Sound Mechanix - I Can't Forget
    04. The Rhythm Slaves - The Light You Will See (Trentemoller's Deep Dub Mix)
    05. Lectroluv - If We Try (Ambient Dub)
    06. Manoo & François A - The Deep
    07. Classic Man - Rapid Winds (75 MPH Mix)
    08. Understars - Forestfunk I (No Damkkb Mix)
    09. Gene Farris - Good Feeling
    10. The Rude Awakening - The Dip (5AM Dipsco Mix)
    11. MyMy - Everybody's Talkin' (Original Mix)
    12. Choo-ables - Hard To Get (BT's Massive Groove)
    13. Fingers Inc. - Never No More Lonely
    14. Keys & Tronics Ensemble - Calypso Of House (Paradise Version)